Eastern Ontario Municipalities lift Declaration of Emergency


The United Counties of SD&G, the United Counties of Prescott and Russell, and the City of Cornwall have lifted the state of emergency as of June 30, 2021.

The state of emergency was declared on March 26, 2020, due to growing concerns about the spread of COVID-19.

Municipal leaders from all three communities consulted with the Medical Officer of Health, Dr. Paul Roumeliotis, when making the decision to end the state of emergency.

COVID-19 restrictions remain in place, and residents are encouraged to stay vigilant. Everyone is encouraged to book an appointment for the COVID-19 vaccine at 1-888-999-6488 or at www.ontario.ca/bookvaccine.

“While we appear to be emerging from the shadow of COVID-19, now is not the time for complacency,” said United Counties of SD&G Warden Allan Armstrong.

“I urge all residents who are eligible to receive a vaccine to book an appointment as soon as possible. We must also continue other health protocols, like mask-wearing and physical distancing. I look forward to the day when this is all behind us, and, through science-based decision-making, we will get there soon.”

Municipalities will continue to support the Eastern Ontario Health Unit as the pandemic continues.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here